Dark necklace

03Oct15

When I read the Macabre Monday challenge for septembre (The Nights Are Drawing In) I knew I wanted to create a black necklace with some night accent.
Whether to meet the challenge theme or just for myself.
I dreamt of a necklace made from my grandmother’s jacket.

I found these pictures and used them as an inspiration for this necklace.

I used bottle caps, black fabric and thread. And a needle… and some studs from ALDI.

nightcrawl_01

nightcrawl_02

The black fabric from my grandmother’s jacket. She died last year at the age of 94. She kept useful things and loved when I told her about my recycling atempts. The black jacket had a stain on it, so we couldn’t give it to charity. I rescued it from the trash bin – primarily for the buttons. But this simple black fabric looks so good in this necklace. So, it’s a perfect tribute to my grandmother. I think she would have liked it.

It’s so typical for me: I start with a challenge and come up with something different.
It’s not very macabre but I prefer dark elegance to horror.

One Response to “Dark necklace”

  1. What an interesting and cleverly designed necklace.
    Thanks for joining us in the dungeon at HDH.


Leave a Reply

