Christmas card and Vampire Queen

09Jan13

Hi,
today I have a Christmas card for you. Well, I hope, you aren’t totally fed up. Since three years or so the amount of Christmas cards I make after Christmas is rising. One of the reasons is that I get all these beautiful leftovers of wrapping paper that I want to use instantly.
Today I used green wrapping paper and a paper napkin image.
Last year I won a blog cady with dies for a cutting machine. I don’t have a cutting machine (too big, too heavy and too expensive) but I thought of using the dies as stancils and do the cutting with scissors.
I made this card for the CHNC challenge 106: Santa has gone into hiding. It shows a day short after Christmas with granny reading the story book Santa brought.
maerchenoma_rot-grün

EDIT: Hazel invited me to enter this card into her monthly extra challenge, too. So thanks Hazel for reminding me.

For those of you who feel sick when they hear the words “Christmas” – may be because of the fact that the mass of food was too much this year or the kitsch in the neighbourhood was too sweet, I have something darker.
I made an ATC that manages to fit into three challenges: The Freaky Friday (Forever Night), the Smudgy Antics and Macabre Monday.
I drew the image last year when I tried to make something for Macabre Monday’s Hammer House of Horror Challenge – but I only got the drawing finished. I drew the image after a picture of Ingrid Pitt, actress in some Hammer films. So, I printed the scanned drawing and coloured it. The ATC itself is made from scraps: The card board is a small leftover from a cereal box and the brown background is a used envelope coloured with acrylic paints. I used some new stamps to give it a hint of structure.
So, the themes of the Challenges are:
Forever Night Challenge 59: Inspiration from a Horror Movie (The original picture is from Vampire Lovers, me thinks)
Macabre Monday: Freakers Free for All
Smudgy Antics: “SCRAP IT UP!”
Vampirkoenigin

I still don’t know how to colour hair in a way that it looks good. But I’m very pleased with the skin. It’s a mix of light blue and yellow and I think that’s a perfect mix for undead skin – better than any green I used before.

14 Responses to “Christmas card and Vampire Queen”

  1. What a lovely image on your Christmas card and way to go with using the wrapping paper to recycle – thanks for entering my CHNC challenge 106 – you could also enter this into my new CHNC challenge extra for January – I’d love to see it there too. X

  2. Hi, thanks for joining us at Haunted Design House this fortnight, Great image, shame you didn’t make the hammer horror challenge but worth the wait, its nice to see something hand drawn, I like the edging of the atc, embossing powder?

    mark

    • 3 lachsekatze

      The edging is just glue and glitter. I bought some black embossing powder last year during a shop clearance but I don’t use it very often as I don’t have a heating tool and have to use my flatmate’s toaster to heat the stuff. So I love the glue and glitter solution.

  3. Wonderful image! Very undead. Amazing use of scraps too. Thanks for joining us at HDH. xxD

  4. Fabulous drawing and ATC!! So glad you got to share it with us at HDH.
    Thanks for joining us for the new year!!!

  5. Thanks for playing with us for our first challenge of the year. Great image. xx

  6. great cards
    thanks for joining our challenge this week
    hugs
    Miranda
    DT Forever Night

  7. 8 Steph

    Wonderful card and fab ATC! Thanks for joining us at Forever Night Challenges last week, I hope you come play with us again 🙂

  8. 9 shell

    fabulous use of your scraps, thanks for sharing with us at Smudgy Antics x

  9. You have definitely achieved the undead look! Great use of color and scraps. Thanks for playing along with Smudgy Antics’ scrap challenge 🙂

  10. wonderful art. Thanks for playing with us at smudgy antics hope you come again soon

  11. Very cool! Thank you for playing at Smudgy Antics!
    Peace,
    Kristy
    (SA DT)

  12. I love to see scraps used like this. Shame you never made that other challenge – but good to see you there now. Thank you for sharing with us at Smudgy Antics.and Haunted Design House

  13. Thanks for entering this into my CHNC challenge extra for January x


Leave a Reply

