A second can for my scissors

19Mar12

After I used the Macabre Monday challenge to solve my storage problems (look here), I used the Burtonesque Dolls this time.

The theme is “Alter it” (Burton-style, of course) and I altered a can. Now I have enough cans for my scissors but I stil have ugly plain cans my pencils and other stuff.

I first wanted to use a decorate the can with an image but I haven’t found anything that I liked in my stash. So, it looks like something that could be found in a Burton movie.

Materials:
can, wallpaper (very old leftover from my parents’ housebuilding activities), crochet yarn (Wolle Rödel), acrylic paste, adhesiv black foil, violet wrapping paper (used), charcoal inkpad (Colorbox)

Steps:
0. Empty can, clean it and rip the paper off.
1. I used double sided tape to glue the wallpaper to the can. Painted it with pearly acrylic paste that I softened with water. Waited until the paper which went wavy during after painting was flat again.
2. I crocheted the lace (I found the pattern in this book: Spitzen & Blenden by Nicky Epstein (Link to amazon.de).
3. Smudged pearly surface with charcoal inkpad. Punched flowers out of wrapping paper. Glued everything to the can.

I took some more picture that show some details better.

2 Responses to “A second can for my scissors”

  1. 1 Alex

    What a great project!!! Thank you so much for altering with us at Beyond the Burtonesque Dolls!!!~

  2. Wow! This is SO cool! I love that you upcycled wall paper! And you crocheted the lace! I am bowing down to you. Great idea, and it looks fabulous!!! Thank you so much for playing along with Beyond the Burtonesque Dolls!


Leave a Reply

