Solving problems with Macabre Monday

15Jan12

(Again, I have a Tip for Top Tip Tuesday. Please scroll down.)
The problem:
A collection of various scissors without a place to keep them. I had them in a box but that meant a lot of searching when I wanted to use one specific pair.

The idea:
Use old cans to store them. But the cans don’t look so nice.

The solution:
Macabre Monday’s challenge “Metal Mania”.
The finished project:



(I used my mobile phone to take these pics – so they are not perfect, but I think you can see the important parts of the project)

Materials:
Can, leftovers of red wallpaper,
fairy charm that I won at a challenge
crocheted lace (I used a pattern for this lace. I find it difficult to crochet according to patterns, normally I just make up the things I want to crochet. But I got this pattern book at Christmas – actually I bought the book, gave it to my mother and she wrapped it in nice paper and put it under the tree and gave me the money back. The book is a cool inspiration although I’ve found one strange part already.)
ribbon from my grandmother Top Tip Tuesday (Theme anything goes): I think this kind of ribbon was originally thought for sewing. But I think it makes really beautiful bows. I got it years ago and stored it crammed into a small bag. So it was all crinkle-crumple and not in any shape to be wrapped around the can; I not even dared to think about bows. I sprayed it with water and wrapped it around a pen. Secured it with a thread or a rubber band. Two days later it was flat and usable to make a bow. I now store it rolled up so that it cannot crumple again.)

And what am I going to do now? Changing from crafts to science and from writing a blogpost to writing a paper.

Have a nice sunday afternoon and a good start into the week tomorrow!

7 Responses to “Solving problems with Macabre Monday”

  1. Fabulously inventive and creative use of old tin cans! It looks very elegant.
    LOVE that lace you crocheted!! Beautiful!!
    Thanks so much for rising to the challenge this week at HDH!!

  2. you crocheted that lace? Beautiful!
    Love the decorated tin can…. just a neat storage idea.
    Thank you for joining us at HDH this week..
    BD x

  3. What a fantastic tin for your scissors and that crocheted lace is stunning – fabulous work!
    Thanks for sharing your Fab Top Tip with us too – what a great way to de-crease and then store your ribbons πŸ™‚

    Thanks for joining in with us over at Top Tip Tuesday πŸ™‚

    Carol x

  4. WoW – cool idea – they look great in there. That is just AWESOME lace. Thank you for playing at HDH πŸ˜€ xxxxxxx

  5. Great idea and the finished product looks brilliant plus you are recycling, it is a win win win situation. Thanks for sharing at HDH again always a pleasure to see your projects xx

  6. Fabulous Project and Love your TOP TIP! too! thanks for sharing that one! I have loads of crumpled up ribbon! Thanks for joining in with us at Top Tip Tuesday Challenge this time, Hope you can come play again soon, hugs Samantha :0)

    Don’t forget to see who the winners are, and the new challenge tomorrow:0)

  7. Great project, the lace is a great touch. Thanks for joining the Anything Goes Challenge at Top Tip Tuesday.


Leave a Reply

