Emptied Chocolate Box turned into First Finished Project in 2012

06Jan12

At the moment, I am listen to an Artemis Fowl audiobook, scanning some recipes from new cooking book and try to write a blog post. So, it can be that I mess up wih this post totally.
About the scanning: I’m a very messy person and I print out the recipes so I don’t stain the books.

What do I want to post? A new altered chocolate box. Christmas is the perfect time for emptied chocolate boxes. I still have some from last year but as I started to make chocolate candy/pralines/chocolate truffles (that’s what my dictionary says – what is the best word to choose?) I alter the boxes and reuse them for storing my sweet give-aways.

This week, the Macabre Monday Challenge at Haunted Design House restarted. Started to miss the challenge, especially as christmas time often is so made-up peaceful: Everybody tries to be harmonic and caring but in the end they all count the presents they’ve got. At least our family meeting is not silent and harmonic – we love to sing the christmas songs all together with some people playing their instruments and all trying to remember the words and singing as loud as possible. We also argue about politics and have a lot of fun because of my aunt’s crazy dog.
But still, it’s good to be back at normal again. And for a normal week, it’s important to have at least one look at the HDH on monday.
This week’s challenge is called “got goth?” and so I had a theme for my newest recycled box.

This time I made a box just for my plesure. I still haven’t anybody to give gothic style presents to.

I used the image of a demonhunter I drew last year. It was the first image I started to print out multiple times. I coloured it several times during the last months. I think, a demonhunter can be considered as a magical creature. That’s the idea of Magical Monday, actually having a “Anything goes” challenge.

For the colours I refer to the Just Inspirational Challenge. They have an image tat you can interpret in way that suits you best. This weeks pic:

Well, there are some nice sweet fairies and a unicorn on the image, but the demon hunter is just behind the trees, using the happy little fairies as a bait for this prey.
I also translated the stars on the pictures into the black little stars.

Enough babble, here is the scanned front of my chocolate box:

For the Top Tip Tuesday (Anything goes, too) I have a tip:
I like to colour kraftpaper with acrylic paints and use it as a cover for my boxes. I find it easier to glue the kraftpaper first and then colour it. It may look rippled first but when I use UHU glue, the ripples go away when the paint has dried up.

Materials used:
recycled: Chocolate box, kraft paper for covering the box, wrapping paper from christmas presents, fused silver plastic bags for the matting, heated again for some extra accent.
new: glue, double sided tape, silver acrylic paint, crocheting yarn, little black stars.

13 Responses to “Emptied Chocolate Box turned into First Finished Project in 2012”

  1. WOW this is something else! very vibrant and a great tip! Thanks for joining in with us at Top Tip Tuesday Challenge this time, Hope you can come play again soon, Samantha:0)
    Happy New Year!

    Don’t forget the challenges are Now fortnightly and you can enter 3 times each Challenge too! :0)

  2. 2 IKE

    Great box and I love your crochet flower. Super colours 😀
    Thank you for joining us for Macabre Monday at HDH.
    Ike xx

  3. Recycling fantastic. Great work on this project. Thanks for playing along with Macabre Monday this week x

  4. This is fantastic, thankyou for joining our challenge at Just Inspirational this week
    Kate xxx

  5. Such a beautiful box. Love the colours and your tip is fab. Thanks for playing at Top Tip Tuesday and good luck. Hope to see you back soon for another challenge. Bettina xx

  6. So good see you again! This box is wonderfully Gothic and perfect for our new challenge of the year at HDH!
    I like the little story about using the sprites for bait!

  7. 7 Elaine

    A great way to recycle boxes. A good tip too. Thanks for joining Top Tip Tuesday. Elaine

  8. You put a lot of work into this and it really paid off. Lovely image and the box looks beautiful.
    Thank you so much for joining us for the first challenge of 2012 at HDH.
    love lynx BD

  9. Beautiful. Love the opalescent effects. Thanks for joining us at Top Tip Tuesday. Annette xx

  10. So happy to have you join our challenges again at HDH. Gorgeous box and fab work with recycling. xxD

  11. Lovely interpretation of the photo. Thank you for playing along at Just Inspirational. Don’t forget we are having a DT call. http://justinspirationalchallenges.blogspot.com/

  12. 12 mandy

    Gorgeous box,love the colours and a great tip too…..
    Mandy x

  13. amazing! yeaaah recycling is good LOL very very pretty box! thanx for sharing! xxx


Leave a Reply

