look mum, lachsekatze was drawing again

28Feb10

Well, blame me. But let me try.
This week’s Macabre Monday was all about Gothic Asian Persuation.
Cool theme, but I haven’t any Asian style stamps.
So I went to a travel agency for some catalogues about Asia. Ended up with some colourful photos of Indian women and chinese children. Nothing gothic at all. But a lot of wanderlust. I was short before hitchhiking to Frankfurt (because of its big international airport).
Instead I went to an Asian Store. Well, I ended up with buying some spices and 5 Minute Noodles, but they had not any usable images. I hoped so much for a dragon charm. Nothing.
Next store: The local gothic boutique. Some years ago I loved this place: nice people and cool stuff to buy. The people are still nice, but the clothings seem to be less inspired, less cool. I still have a gift coupon for this store, but I’ve been trying to find something I like for two years and I haven’t succeeded,yet. Short look over the flyers they had – nothing useful.
So I went home and found a book in my shelf. It’s written by the Mongolian director Byambasuren Davaa and the German Lisa Reisch and it contains the story and the history of the movie they made:”Die Höhle des gelben Hundes” (The cave of the yellow dog). If you have the chance to watch one of her (Byambasuren Davaas) movies – take it! Her first movie which was released in Germany was “the Story of the Weeping Camel”. It was nominated for the “Best documentary” Oscar in 2005. Her movies about mongolian nomads are stunning: She knows how to combine documentary style with a great magical story.
In her book, she also explains how to make the traditional mongolian clothing – the Deel. And here I had a little idea: drawing someone “dark” in a deel.
Well, this guy is not that dark, I know. But when you look carefully you can see his red eyes. *wink*

For the background I used silk/tissue paper (I haven’t found a good translation: very soft paper that is used for making artificial flowers and bleeds out when you spill water over it.) I used a paint marker for the golden flourishes and a paint-brush with black ink (very asian ;-)) for the black flourishes. Ripped the paper in pieces and glued it to white card board.

3 Responses to “look mum, lachsekatze was drawing again”

  1. I think this is wonderful! You were certainly diligent in your attempt for this weeks challenge and I think you succeed famously! Thank you so much for sharing this with us all!!!

  2. Great card, Thea! LOVE the Asian paper and all of the red… especially his hair & eyes 😉 Thanks so much for playing along with Macabre Monday!

  3. You did a fantastic job! Way to go!


Leave a Reply

