Purple Violett Lilac Lavender…

06Feb10

I always mix them up, even in my mother tongue I am not sure when to say “violett” and when to use “lila”. In medieval times “purple” did not refer to a special colour but more to the pigment or better the sea snail it was made from. I just did a bit research in wikipedia to find out which colour is which but at the end I was more confused than before.

Well, so I decided to make a violet-purple-lilac-or-whatever card using as much things of these colours as possible. It is not very ” dark, Gothic, or Halloween” as stated in the Macabre Monday Rules, but I hope it still counts. I coloured the candles in black to make it at least a bit gothic 😉
I used the sketch from the current “Just Christmas and Birthday Cards” challenge. The first time I made a card for this challenge and the first time I enter a card into two challenges.
The stamp is from a stamping set I bought some days ago. The purple paper in the background is a nice part from used wrapping paper (one of the best wrapping papers I ever got 😉 ). The smal flowers are punched out of some left overs from the wrapping of a bottle of sparkling wine (you know this aluminium foil around the cork?).

I always love to read your opinions – so feel free to leave a comment, and if you think there is something I can improve, please please, tell me *smile*
thank you for hopping over

9 Responses to “Purple Violett Lilac Lavender…”

  1. love all the purple/lilac ~ so pretty
    thanks for using the sketch on JCBC!!
    vanessa xx

  2. 2 Linda aka Oz

    Love the “reuse” theme ya got going here. Brilliant idea for the shiny little flowers and the wrapping paper is way cool. No wonder you kept it around. great entry. Oz

  3. Beautiful birthday card! LOVE the wrapping paper background… so pretty! Thanks so much for playing along with Macabre Monday!

  4. Gorgeous card! Thanks for joining us at JCBC.

    Greetings from Andrea Germany

  5. Love this card, and I’m never sure about all the different shades of purple either, lol, it’s a good job I like all of them 😛

  6. OH i like to recycle stuff too…. and that wrapping paper is to die for…. i think its quite gothic…. and black candles… do you know how hard it is to find black candles…. rare as hens teeth i’ll tell you!
    I think this is great…. there are a few of us who do macabre mondays every week and its refreshing change from the ‘normal’ challenges. Hope to see you there again some time.
    hugs lynx

  7. very, very pretty!!! lovely creation!

  8. Gorgeous Card! I love all the colors you used! Thanks for joining us at JCBC!

  9. great job! love the colours!
    thanks for joining us at JCBC!

    xo janina


Leave a Reply

