The master of disaster

19Nov09

Saturday Spotlight has the challenge of using a masterboard or selfmade designer paper.
I do this regularly, but I had no idea that there is such a cool name like “masterboard” for it. I use selfmade pattern paper not only for making cards but also for wrapping small gifts. I just use plain white paper, some simple stamps like small butterflies and one or two colored inkpads. I just add a nice ribbon – finished. Very easy.
For the “masterboards” of my cards, I stamped the images. Then, I made a christmas-tree stencil by using a small punch on a piece of old card board. With the stencil I brushed golden acrylic paint on the paper. So far, anything went acording to my plan. But then I became the master of disaster: I spilled acrylic paint over one of my sheets, some water dripped on an other and some of the stamps came out very strange with lost lines and angles.
But you won’t see this on my cards, because I just used the better parts of my “masterboards”.

It’s the first time I faked ribbon by using a paper strip. I am still not sure whether I like this or not…

I think I will add theses cards to the present for my mother. 😉

Thanks for looking!

I think my mother will love this one, so she can thank her friends for christmas cards 😉


(The friend of mine who scanned this card cut the right edge. I am sorry for not controlling the scans when I got them ...

Bei Saturday Spotlight with Hidden Potiential gibt es diese Woche folgendes Thema: “Create A Masterboard”.
Ein wirklich tolles Thema, finde ich. Ich benutze sehr häufig selbst bestempeltes Papier – nicht nur für Karten, sondern z.B. auch zum Geschenke verpacken. Einfach ein oder zwei Bögen weißes Schreibmaschinen Papier, einen einfachen Stempel, wie z.B. ein kleiner Schmetterling und ein oder zwei bunte Stempelkissen. Dann um das eingewickelte Papier eine schöne Schleife – fertig. Super einfach und trotzdem immer ein Hingucker. Besonders, wenn andere mit großen Augen fragen: ” Das Papier, hast du das selbst gemacht????” 🙂
Zur Gestaltung des Papiers für meine Karten habe ich Stempel benutzt und eine kleine Tannenbaum-Schblone, die ich aus Karton ausgestanzt habe. Mit der Schablone und einem breiten Pinsel habe ich dann goldene Acrylfarbe aufgtragen. So weit so gut. Allerdings habe ich dann doch wieder wild rumgesaut: Einen Teil der Bögen kann ich nicht mehr benutzen, weil entweder die Stempel nicht so wollten wie ich oder ich nicht nur durch die Schablone gepinselt habe. Noch gestern habe ich Acrylfarbe im Waschbecken entdeckt. Aber alles nicht soooo schlimm – schließlich konnte ich mir für die Karten die besten Stücke aussuchen. 😉
Merci fürs Herüberlugen

3 Responses to “The master of disaster”

  1. WOW what a wonderful Holiday creation!!! Thanks so much for joining us at Saturday Spotlight!

  2. What a really awesome Holiday display!! Love your take on this masterboard!! Thanks so much for joining us at Saturday Spotlight!! HUGS

  3. 3 Jessica G.

    Perfect images to use on your holiday masterboard! Thanks for playing along in this week’s Saturday Spotlight challenge!!


Leave a Reply

